Does college baseball use the designated hitter?

Does college baseball use the designated hitter? As it turns out, it's a pioneer in that regard.
Wesley Hitt/GettyImages

With major league baseball adopting the universal DH just a few years ago, it can be hard to know where the other levels stand. Especially when you considering that college is still the only place that uses metal bats. So it’s not a silly question to wonder, does college baseball use the designated hitter?

The short answer is that yes, college baseball does use the DH. Where it gets more difficult is that not every team uses a DH instead of a pitcher to hit. In high school and college, there is a better chance that a pitcher can also hit.

Does college baseball use the designated hitter?

Yes according to NCAA rule 7-2, there is a designated hitter available to use in any college baseball game. The main rules for the DH in the NCAA is the same as anywhere else. That means that the DH only hits for the pitcher. He cannot hit for another position.

Also, the DH cannot be pinch hit for with another DH. In other words, if the designated hitter leaves the game for some reason (almost certainly injury), the pitcher must then hit. That becomes more of an issue if the pitcher on the mound is a reliever who has never really taken an at-bat.

There is one rule that might stand out, and is likely to be used in college more than anywhere else. That rule is that should a team’s manager relieve a pitcher who is a pretty good hitter, that just removed pitcher can be put into the game as the designated hitter. However, he must be put in immediately after leaving as the pitcher.

Long story short, the answer to does college baseball use the designated hitter, is a resounding yes.

Schedule

Schedule