Nebraska Football’s Westerkamp And Reilly Named To Watch List

Nov 14, 2015; Piscataway, NJ, USA; Rutgers Scarlet Knights defensive back Andre Hunt (30) can
Nov 14, 2015; Piscataway, NJ, USA; Rutgers Scarlet Knights defensive back Andre Hunt (30) can /

As we get closer to the end of the watch list reveals, two more Nebraska Football stars have been named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List, the award given to the most outstanding college football receiver.

Jordan Westerkamp was named to this watch list last season, and his performance last year does not surprise us as to why he was named again. From his 65 receptions for 918 yards and his All Big Ten honors, he definitely has proven himself as a successful receiver.

This is the first year that Brandon Reilly is being named to the watch list. Starting as a walk-on, Reilly has shown that he has got what it takes to lead the team to success. He has had 40 receptions for 754 yards, four touchdowns, and we can’t forget his 30 –yard touchdown that won the game against Michigan State season.

More from Husker Corner

We know that Westerkamp and Reilly are going to be game changers this season when it comes to the success of the team. They both have had very successful past seasons, and have proven their dependability as starting receivers. As I mentioned in an earlier article,  Westerkamp and Reilly are most likely going to be our first and second best receivers, respectively. Husker fans everywhere are excited to see what these two stars are going to bring to the field this fall, hopefully leading the team to a better record than last season.

Reilly and Westerkamp are two of the 53 prospects that have been named to the list. This list will be narrowed down to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November, followed by the announcement of the top three about a week after. The winner will not be announced until December 8th, during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Besides these two Huskers, only four other Big Ten receivers made the Biletnikoff watch list; Chris Godwin from Penn State, Ricky Jones and Simmie Cobbs Jr. from Indiana, and Jehu Chesson from Michigan. In the past, only four Big Ten receivers have won the award.

Next: Former Husker Jordan Burroughs Is Ready To Defend His Title In Rio

In just over 50 days, we will be able to see what Nebraska Football and our watch list nominees are going to bring to the field. Let’s hope they show some great talent so we can see some of our players receive these awards! September 3rd can’t come soon enough!