Four Huskers named All-Big Ten First Team


In a year that has featured a Big Ten record for number of teams with 10 or more wins, it can be hard to stand out. Four Huskers players emerged as stars and were named to the All-Big Ten First Team, taking up five slots.

Junior kicker/punter Brett Maher earned All-Big Ten First Team honors as both a kicker and a punter. Maher is 19 of 22 kicking on the year, with six kicks of 50 yards or more and a perfect 42 for 42 on extra points. Punting, Maher has booted 54 punts with an average of 45 yards per punt. Maher was also named the award winner for best punter – Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year – and the best kicker – Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year – in the Big Ten.

Linebacker Lavonte David, one of six Butkus Award finalists, earned All-Big Ten First Team honors as well. David leads the Huskers with 122 tackles this season. He also took home the Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year award, which recognizes the Big Ten’s best linebacker.

Cornerback Alfonzo Dennard, who missed the first three games of the year due to a leg injury, earned All-Big Ten First Team honors, a year after bringing home All-Big 12 Second Team honors in 2010. Dennard was an integral part of Nebraska’s defense, holding teams under 50 percent on completions and registering 6 pass breakups on the season.

Running back Rex Burkhead, who was also named All-Big Ten First Team, is third in the Big Ten with 261 carries for 1268 yards and 15 touchdowns.

Two Nebraska offensive linemen earned All-Big Ten Second Team honors. Center Mike Caputo, who was a Rimington Award watch-lister to begin the season, and guard Spencer Long, who was a surprise starter at the beginning of the season, were announced as Nebraska’s All-Big Team Second Team selections. Long was an All-Big Ten Second Team selection by the media, while Caputo, Burkhead, Dennard, David and Maher were all coaches selections.


Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year: Russell Wilson, Wisconsin

Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year: Marvin McNutt, Iowa

Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year: Montee Ball, Wisconsin

Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year: Drake Dunsmore, Northwestern

Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year: David Molk, Michigan

Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year: Devon Still, Penn State

Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year: Lavonte David, Nebraska

Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year: Alfonzo Dennard, Nebraska

Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year: Brett Maher, Nebraska

Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year: Brett Maher, Nebraska

2011 All-Big Ten (Coaches)


Quarterback Russell Wilson, Wisconsin

Running Back Rex Burkhead, Nebraska

Running Back Montee Ball, Wisconsin

Receiver A.J. Jenkins, Illinois

Receiver Marvin McNutt, Iowa

Center David Molk, Michigan

Guard Joel Foreman, Michigan State

Guard Kevin Zeitler, Wisconsin

Tackle Riley Reiff, Iowa

Tackle Josh Oglesby, Wisconsin

Tight End Drake Dunsmore, Northwestern

Kicker Brett Maher, Nebraska



Line Whitney Mercilus, Illinois

Line Jerel Worthy, Michigan State

Line John Simon, Ohio State

Line Devon Still, Penn State

Linebacker Lavonte David, Nebraska

Linebacker Gerald Hodges, Penn State

Linebacker Chris Borland, Wisconsin

Defensive Back Shaun Prater, Iowa

Defensive Back Johnny Adams, Michigan State

Defensive Back Alfonzo Dennard, Nebraska

Defensive Back Aaron Henry, Wisconsin

Punter Brett Maher, Nebraska


Quarterback Kirk Cousins, Michigan State

Running Back Marcus Coker, Iowa

Running Back Silas Redd, Penn State

Receiver B.J. Cunningham, Michigan State

Receiver Nick Toon, Wisconsin

Center Mike Caputo, Nebraska

Guard Adam Gettis, Iowa

Guard Travis Frederick, Wisconsin

Tackle Taylor Lewan, Michigan

Tackle Mike Adams, Ohio State

Tight End Brian Linthicum, Michigan State

Kicker Carson Wiggs, Purdue


Line Michael Buchanan, Illinois

Line Mike Daniels, Iowa

Line Mike Martin, Michigan

Line William Gholston, Michigan State

Linebacker Max Bullough, Michigan State

Linebacker Andrew Sweat, Ohio State

Linebacker Mike Taylor, Wisconsin

Defensive Back Isaiah Lewis, Michigan State

Defensive Back C.J. Barnett, Ohio State

Defensive Back Nick Sukay, Penn State

Defensive Back Ricardo Allen, Purdue

Punter Cody Webster, Purdue

By Chris Peters

Photo Courtesy Getty Images