Douglas Jones-USA TODAY Sports

Taylor Martinez, Ameer Abdullah Named To Walter Camp Award Watch List


Preseason accolades continue for Nebraska Cornhuskers quarterback Taylor Martinez and running back Ameer Abdullah. Both were named to The Walter Camp Award Watch List, which is given to the collegiate Player of The Year.

Three former Huskers have won the award. Johnny Rodgers in 1972, Mike Rozier in 1983, and Eric Crouch in 2001. The winner of the Walter Camp Award usually goes on to win The Heisman as well.

Both Martinez and Abdullah are deserving of the preseason honor with each having breakout seasons in 2012. The are in a field with some stiff competition for the award. Johnny Manziel, Jadeveon Clowney, Tajh Boyd, and Braxton Miller are also on the preseason watch list.

There are also several Big Ten players on the watch list. Martinez, Abdullah, and Miller are joined by Northwestern running back Venric Mark, Ohio State defensive end Bradley Roby, and Michigan offensive lineman Taylor Lewan.

Taylor Martinez and Ameer Abdullah both look to have even better seasons in 2013 with most of the offense returning and a solid offensive line leading the way for the duo. They also have a much more manageable schedule that does not include Ohio State and Wisconsin. If Nebraska’s offense is as potent as expected, both Martinez and Abdullah have a shot at winning the award at seasons end.

Next Cornhuskers Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov3:30Purdue BoilermakersBuy Tickets

Tags: Ameer Abdullah Nebraska Cornhuskers Football Taylor Martinez Walter Camp Award

comments powered by Disqus