Brad Barr-USA TODAY Sports

Taylor Martinez Named To Davey O'Brien Award Watch List


Nebraska Cornhuskers quarterback Taylor Martinez has been named to The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List. The Davey O’Brien Award is given to the best of all NCAA quarterbacks by The Davey O’Brien Foundation.

Martinez is coming off the best season of his career with 2871 yards passing and 23 touchdowns. He added over a thousand yards rushing and another ten touchdowns on the ground.

Taylor Martinez is poised to have his best season yet in his senior campaign. He will have several high quality targets to throw the ball to in explosive wide receivers Kenny Bell, Quincy Enunwa, Jamal Turner, and Jordan Westerkamp.His dynamic duel threat status also makes him a candidate to have another thousand yard rushing season.,

Martinez is joined on the Davey O’Brien Watch list by  fellow Big Ten quarterbacks Braxton Miller of Ohio State and Devin Gardner of Michigan. Since the awards inception in 1981, six Big Ten quarterbacks have been recipients.

Taylor Martinez looks to join former Nebraska Cornhuskers quarterback Eric Crouch as the only Huskers to win the award. Crouch took home the Davey O’brien Trophy in 2001, the same year he also won The Heisman.

Martinez and The Nebraska Huskers kick off their season on August 31, 2013 when The Wyoming Cowboys visit Lincoln.

Next Cornhuskers Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov2:30Purdue BoilermakersBuy Tickets

Tags: Davey O'Brien Award Eric Crouch Nebraska Cornhuskers Football Taylor Martinez

comments powered by Disqus